JNU EC 2017-18 Releases First Notification, Bhagat Singh Saini Elected as EC Chairperson


25 July 2017| Friday: The election process for the JNU Students Union Elections 2017-18 has begun with the newly convened Election Committee releasing its first notification on the issue. After the completion of General Body Meetings of all Schools where Election Committee members were elected and Convenor’s Report was debated, the much-awaited election fervour has finally set in.



Election Committee 2016-17


Yesterday, on 24 July, Bhagat Singh Saini, a research scholar at Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,  was unanimously elected as the Chairperson of the Election Committee 2017-18. The partial code of conduct comes into force with the notification, meaning that all further posters or pamphlets must be verified by the Election Committee. It also means that students and political groups can only use hand-made or photocopied material for campaigns and not use public address system, vehicles, and animals.


Presidential Debate JNUSU Election 2016-17

The next step of the election process entails an all-organization and individuals’ meeting tomorrow, 26 August 2017 at 4 PM in TEFLAS, the Election Committee Office till the elections. After a date of nomination is announced, the candidates will officially begin the election campaigns.

The Informer Report.


Categories: Home