JNUSU Elections: Candidates File Nominations, AISA-DSF-SFI Alliance Asserted



Sloganeering outside Teflas, the EC Office


30 August 2017 | Wednesday:  Nominations for the post of JNU Student Union School Councillors and Central  Panel–the President, the Vice-President, the General Secretary, and the Joint Secretary were filled in today by candidates from across political groups and ideological leanings. The Election Committee, headed by its Chairperson Bhagat Singh Saini, had set up tents outside Teflas, which presently is the Office of the Election Committee.

The political groups contesting elections this year are Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), All India Students Association (AISA),  All India Students Federation (AISF), Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA), Bhagat Singh Ambedkar Students Organisation (BASO),  Democratic Students Federation (DSF), National Students Union of India (NSUI) and Students Federation of India (SFI).



The Left Alliance Panel: from the left, Subhanshu Singh (in red), Duggirala Srikrishna, Simon Zoya Khan, Geeta Kumari


The nomination process was calm on a relatively cool day. The political groups were busy from ten in the morning till late four in the evening, filling in the nomination forms and making sure no error impeded the process that is seen as the beginning of the election process in the University. All candidates were required to provide the EC with their date of birth proof; also, they must be proposed and seconded for the seat by two full-time JNU students.

By 4:30 PM, the nomination process had come to an end and a round of sloganeering began at the desks of political groups. After about half an hour of intense sloganeering for their party candidates at their stalls, activists from AISA, DSF, and SFI came together to sloganeer for “left unity” and affirmed the much talked about ‘grand left alliance.” With the “Geeta-Simon-Duggi-Subhanshu” slogan, the alliance also declared its candidates to the student body: Geeta Kumari for the post of President, Simon Zoya Khan for the post of Vice President, Duggirala Srikrishna for the post of General Secretary, and Subhanshu Singh for the post of Joint Secretary. The other groups are yet to officially declare their candidates officially, though it has now been confirmed that Aprajita Raja from AISF will contest for the post of President.



Activists from BAPSA at Sabarmati Dhaba


After a round of sloganeering, members of AISA, DSF, and SFI marched together from Teflas to Sabarmati Dhaba, which was followed by marches of ABVP and BAPSA supporters. At Sabarmati Dhaba, the ABVP and Left Alliance jeered and booed, called names, and reminded each other of past figures and follies. BAPSA, on the other hand, chanted slogans attacking the Left and the Right and called for a “unity of the oppressed” against the “unity of opportunists.” Activists from AISF watched from a distance. The sloganeering had died down at half past six.

Meanwhile, pictures of the Left panel were circulating on the social media and workers were mowing the Sabarmati Lawns, readying it for the upcoming University General Body Meeting where new accusations, arguments, and answers will be tabled, all affecting the Student Union election results in their own ways.

The Informer Report. 


Categories: Home, NEWS